June 10, 2021 ✻ Mexico City, Mexico

Co-located with NAACL2021

Important Dates

  December 22, 2020:  First Call for Workshop Papers
  March 1, 2021:  Second Call for Workshop Papers
  March 15, 2021:  Paper submission deadline
  April 15, 2021::  Notification of acceptance
  April 26, 2021:  Camera-ready deadline
  June 10, 2021:  Workshop

Keynote Speakers

Workshop Description

Encouraged by the 2019 and 2020 workshops, the aim of the third edition of SIGTYP workshop is to act as a platform and a forum for the exchange of information between typology-related research, multilingual NLP, and other research areas that can lead to the development of truly multilingual NLP methods. The workshop is specifically aimed at raising awareness of linguistic typology and its potential in supporting and widening the global reach of multilingual NLP, as well as at introducing computational approaches to linguistic typology. It will foster research and discussion on open problems, not only within the active community working on cross- and multilingual NLP but also inviting input from leading researchers in linguistic typology. Starting from 2021, the workshop will be dedicated to a shared theme, a central topic that most keynote talks and discussions will be focused on. For instance, in 2021 we would like to follow up a recent debate on linguistic diversity (p-linguistics, the study of individual languages) and universalism (g-linguistics, the study of Human Language), see Haspelmath (2020); Evans and Levinson (2009). The process of annotation ofhighly cross-lingual corpora (such as recently introduced Universal Dependencies (Nivre et al., 2016) and UniMorph (Sylak-Glassman, 2016)) requires distinguishing language-specific, historically accidental phenomena from truly universal phenomenasuch as the fact that all languages have demonstra-tives (Diessel, 2014). Our workshop will serve as a platform to enable fruitful discussions on the topic.

Main Topics

The workshop will provide focussed discussion on a range of topics, including (but not limited to) the following:

   — Language-independence in training, architecture design, and hyperparameter tuning. Is it possible (and if yes, how) to unravel unknown biases that hinder the cross-lingual performance of NLP algorithms and to leverage the knowledge on such biases in NLP algorithms?

   —Integration of typological features in language transfer and joint multilingual learning. In addition to established techniques such as “selective sharing”, are there alternative ways to encoding heterogeneous external knowledge in machine learning algorithms?

   — New applications. The application of typology to currently uncharted territories, i.e. the use typological information in NLP tasks where such information has not been investigated yet.

   — Automatic inference of typological features. The pros and cons of existing techniques (e.g. heuristics derived from morphosyntactic annotation, propagation from features of other languages, supervised Bayesian and neural models) and discussion on emerging ones.

   — Typology and interpretability. The use of typological knowledge for interpretation of hidden representations of multilingual neural models, multilingual data generation and selection, and typological annotation of texts.

   — Improvement and completion of typological databases. Combining linguistic knowledge and automatic data-driven methods towards the joint goal of improving the knowledge on cross-linguistic variation and universals.

   — Linguistic diversity and universals. Challenges of cross-lingual annotation. Which linguistic phenomena or categories should be considered universal? How should they be annotated?

Submission Format

SIGTYP 2021 will consider both archival and non-archival work. We will issue a call for extended abstract submissions (non-archival) and general paper submissions (archival). The accepted submissions will be presented at the workshop, providing new insights and ideas. In terms of non-archival work, we will allow 2-page abstracts of already published work or work in progress. This way, we will not discourage researchers from preferring main conference proceedings, at the same time ensuring that interesting and thought-provoking research is presented at the workshop. In addition, we will consider general archival submissions (4-page and 8-page papers).

Program Committee

    Željko Agić, Corti
    Emily Ahn, University of Washington
    Isabelle Augenstein, University of Copenhagen
    Emily Bender, University of Washington
    Johannes Bjerva, University of Copenhagen
    Claire Bowern, Yale University
    Miriam Butt, University of Konstanz
    Giuseppe Celano, Leipzig University
    Agnieszka Falenska, University of Stuttgart
    Richard Futrell, University of California, Irvine
    Elisabetta Ježek, University of Pavia
    Gerhard Jäger, University of Tubingen
    John Mansfield, The University of Melbourne
    Paola Merlo, University of Geneva
    Joakim Nivre, Uppsala University
    Robert Östling, Stockholm University
    Thomas Proisl, FAU Erlangen-Nurnberg
    Michael Regan, University of New Mexico
    Ella Rabinovich, University of Toronto
    Tanja Samardžić, University of Zurich
    Richard Sproat, Google Japan
    Sabine Stoll, University of Zurich
    Daan van Esch, Google AI
    Giulia Venturi, ILC ``Antonio Zampolli''
    Nidhi Vyas, Apple
    Ada Wan, University of Zurich
    Eleanor Chodroff, University of York
    Elizabeth Salesky, Johns Hopkins University
    Sabrina Mielke, Johns Hopkins University
    Edoardo Ponti, University of Cambridge


    Ekaterina Vylomova     Elizabeth Salesky
    Sabrina J. Mielke     Ritesh Kumar     Edoardo M. Ponti
    Harald Hammarström     Gabriella Lapesa     Ivan Vulić
    Anna Korhonen     Roi Reichart     Ryan Cotterell



Interested in being a Sponsor? Contact us!